- Associated Press - Tuesday, November 24, 2015

FRANKFORT, Ky. (AP) - Three communities in eastern Kentucky have been named the state’s 13th Trail Town, a designation used to promote adventure tourism.

The communities are Cumberland, Benham and Lynch in Harlan County.

The Trail Town Program is designed to guide travelers to trails, food, lodging, campgrounds, museums, entertainment and other services.

Other locations already designated as Trail Towns are Dawson Springs, Livingston, Morehead, Olive Hill, London, Stearns, Elkhorn City, Jamestown, Manchester, Royalton, Berea and Columbia.

The Kentucky Tourism, Arts and Heritage Cabinet said Monday that more than 30 communities have started the application process to become a Trail Town.

Some of the attractions offered in the Cumberland, Benham and Lynch area include Pine Mountain State Scenic Trail, Kingdom Come State Park, Looney Creek Trail, the Stables at Creekside Glen, the Cumberland River and Kentucky Summit Trail for cycling.

Copyright © 2018 The Washington Times, LLC.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times welcomes your comments on Spot.im, our third-party provider. Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide