- Associated Press - Tuesday, November 24, 2015

TRENTON, N.J. (AP) - In a story Nov. 15 about New Jersey debating legalizing marijuana, The Associated Press reported erroneously on who must pay a $200 fee to register with the state’s medical marijuana program. Patients and caregivers must pay the fee, not patients and doctors.

A corrected version of the story is below:

New Jersey lawmakers holding hearing on legalizing marijuana

New Jersey lawmakers holding hearing on legalizing, regulating, taxing marijuana

TRENTON, N.J. (AP) - New Jersey lawmakers are set to hear testimony on legalizing recreational marijuana in the state.

The judiciary committee is scheduled on Monday to hear from clergy, health professionals, law enforcement officials and other policy experts on Monday.

The hearing comes as lawmakers prepare for a lame-duck session of the Legislature and as Gov. Chris Christie spends time outside New Jersey campaigning for the Republican nomination for president.

Marijuana has been legalized for all uses in Colorado, Washington, Oregon and Alaska and for medical use in nearly 20 others, including New Jersey.

New Jersey’s medical marijuana law is among the most restrictive in the nation, with patients and caregivers required to register with the state and pay a $200 fee. There are five medical marijuana dispensaries. A sixth is pending.

Copyright © 2018 The Washington Times, LLC.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times is switching its third-party commenting system from Disqus to Spot.IM. You will need to either create an account with Spot.im or if you wish to use your Disqus account look under the Conversation for the link "Have a Disqus Account?". Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.

 

Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide