- Associated Press - Wednesday, November 25, 2015

AUSTIN, Texas (AP) - Texas will receive federal aid for the ongoing recovery from October storms that left six people dead.

The White House on Wednesday announced a major disaster declaration for 15 Texas counties that include Houston and Austin.

The declaration authorizes federal aid that includes temporary housing grants and loans to cover the loss of uninsured property. The Federal Emergency Management Agency will begin taking online or telephone applications for assistance Thursday.

Storms and heavy rain flooded streets throughout Central and Southeast Texas. Houston police found two dead, one in a rain-swollen ditch and another in a wooded area where there had been water.

The counties under the disaster declaration are Bastrop, Brazoria, Caldwell, Comal, Galveston, Guadalupe, Hardin, Harris, Hays, Hidalgo, Liberty, Navarro, Travis, Willacy, and Wilson.


On the Web: https://www.disasterassistance.gov

Copyright © 2018 The Washington Times, LLC.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times welcomes your comments on Spot.im, our third-party provider. Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide