- Associated Press - Wednesday, November 4, 2015

MONROE, La. (AP) - The National Institutes of Health (NIH) has awarded grants to three Louisiana-Monroe facility members in the School of Pharmacy’s Department of Basic Pharmaceutical Sciences, totaling nearly $1.2 million.

Among those awarded is Dr. Karen Briski, professor and BPS department head. Briski will investigate neural mechanisms that are responsible for suppressing reproduction during energy deficiency.

Dr. Amal K. Kaddoumi, associate professor of Pharmaceutics, received a grant for a project that seeks to identify therapeutics that will target the blood-brain barrier in an effort to prevent and/or slow the progression of Alzheimer’s disease.

Dr. Seetharama D.S. Jois, associate professor of Medicinal Chemistry, received a grant that will support his research to identify pharmacotherapeutic tools to combat lung cancer.



Click to Read More

Click to Hide