- Associated Press - Wednesday, November 4, 2015

JACKSON, Miss. (AP) - The latest news on legislative races in Mississippi’s general election. All times are local.

4:18 p.m.

Republicans are adding a 72nd seat in the Mississippi House, with a challenger still leading a Democratic incumbent in another race.

With counting concluded in Jefferson Davis County Wednesday, Republican Noah Sanford of Seminary beat Democrat John B. Pope III of Collins in House District 90. Joe Warren, a longtime Democratic House member, vacated that seat.

Republican Mark Tullos of Raleigh leads incumbent Democrat Bo Eaton Taylorsville by six votes, as officials in Smith County examine four affidavit votes. If Tullos knocks off Eaton, Republicans would reach 73 votes in the House, one short of a 74-vote supermajority. If Republicans controlled 60 percent of votes, Democrats couldn’t block their taxing and spending plans.

Rep. David Baria, D-Bay St. Louis, holds a slim lead over Republican challenger Mickey Legasse of Waveland.


4:38 a.m.

As election returns are finalized in the next few days, Republicans are within striking distance of a 74-vote supermajority in the Mississippi House.

The GOP boosted their ranks to a solid 71 with three races remaining close early Wednesday, knocking off House Minority Leader Bobby Moak, D-Bogue Chitto and Rep. Sherra Lane, D-Waynesboro.

Rep. Bo Eaton, D-Taylorsville, teetered near defeat, trailing Republican Mark Tullos of Raleigh. Meanwhile Rep. David Baria, D-Bay St. Louis, clung to a slim lead over Republican Mickey Legasse of Waveland.

Democrats had fielded more than a dozen challengers hoping to trim the Republican edge, which stood at 67-55 before Tuesday. Those Democratic challenges fell short in most districts, though. The only exception was in Oxford, where city Alderman Jay Hughes defeated freshman Republican Rep. Brad Mayo.



Click to Read More

Click to Hide