- Associated Press - Friday, November 6, 2015

ZURICH (AP) - Carli Lloyd and Lionel Messi are among the nominees for the FIFA Puskas Award for goal of the year.

Lloyd scored for the United States from 50 yards against Japan in the Women’s World Cup final. Messi beat four defenders before scoring Barcelona’s first goal against Athletic Bilbao in the Copa del Rey final.

Other nominees include Juventus striker Carlos Tevez and AC Milan defender Philippe Mexes. Gonzalo Castro, Wendell Lira, David Ball, Marcel Ndjeng, Esteban Ramirez and Alessandro Florenzi were also nominated Friday.

The 10 nominees will be trimmed to three on Nov. 30. The winner will be chosen on Jan. 11, the same day as the Ballon d’Or winner is announced.

Copyright © 2019 The Washington Times, LLC.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times welcomes your comments on Spot.im, our third-party provider. Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide