- Associated Press - Friday, November 6, 2015

FRANKFURT, Germany (AP) - Striker Mario Gomez has been recalled for Germany for the friendlies against France and the Netherlands, with coach Joachim Loew also calling up Schalke teenager Leroy Sane for the first time.

Another newcomer is Paris Saint-Germain goalkeeper Kevin Trapp, one of the four keepers in the 25-man squad.

Hampered by injuries, Gomez was not in Germany’s squad that won the 2014 World Cup. The Besiktas striker last played for Germany in September 2014 in a friendly loss to Argentina.

“If Mario is fit and playing regularly, if he is in his rhythm and has his confidence, he can be of value for every team,” Loew said. “He is scoring goals again in Turkey … and he’s earned a chance to show that he can be an option for us. I am glad his injury misery is over.”

Sane has played for Germany’s junior sides and is having a breakthrough season for Schalke. He will return to the under-21 team after the Nov. 13 match in Paris and will not be available for the match against the Netherlands four days later in Hannover.

“We see an enormous potential in him,” Loew said of Sane, who is the son of former Bundesliga player and Senegal international Souleyman Sane.

Loew did not pick Mesut Ozil and Toni Kroos, saying he wanted to give them a rest in a long season.

“Besides, I want to see some other options in their positions,” Loew said.

Mario Goetze and Marco Reus are also missing, through injuries.

Loew called France “one of the best teams in the world,” and said Germany was eager “to experience the atmosphere” at the Stade de France, which will be one of the venues of next year’s European Championship.


The squad:

Goalkeepers: Bernd Leno (Bayer Leverkusen), Manuel Neuer (Bayern Munich), Kevin Trapp (Paris St. Germain), Ron-Robert Zieler (Hannover).

Defenders: Jerome Boateng (Bayern Munich), Emre Can (Liverpool), Matthias Ginter (Borussia Dortmund), Mats Hummels (Borussia Dortmund), Jonas Hector (Cologne), Shkodran Mustafi (Valencia), Antonio Ruediger (Roma), Sebastian Rudy (Hoffenheim).

Midfielders: Karim Bellarabi (Bayer Leverkusen), Julian Draxler (Wolfsburg), Ilkay Gundogan, (Borussia Dortmund), Sami Khedira (Juventus), Christoph Kramer (Bayer Leverkusen), Thomas Mueller (Bayern Munich), Lukas Podolski (Galatasaray Istanbul), Leroy Sane (Schalke), Andre Schuerrle (Wolfsburg), Bastian Schweinsteiger (Manchester United).

Forwards: Mario Gomez (Besiktas Istanbul), Max Kruse (Wolfsburg), Kevin Volland (Hoffenheim).

Copyright © 2019 The Washington Times, LLC.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times welcomes your comments on Spot.im, our third-party provider. Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide