- Associated Press - Tuesday, October 13, 2015

PHOENIX (AP) - Two sitting Democratic lawmakers and the chairwoman of the 26th legislative district’s Democratic party have been recommended to replace a state senator who resigned.

The Maricopa County board of Supervisors will chose from among the nominees to replace Sen. Ed. Ableser next week. Ableser resigned last month to take a job in Nevada.

The sitting lawmakers on the list of nominees chosen by Democratic precinct committee members Monday night are Reps. Andrew Sherwood and Juan Mendez. Both currently represent the district that covers Tempe and parts of Mesa. Also nominated was Democratic district chairwoman Samantha Pstross.

State law say vacancies must be filled from the same party.

Copyright © 2018 The Washington Times, LLC.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times welcomes your comments on Spot.im, our third-party provider. Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide