- Associated Press - Tuesday, October 13, 2015

MADISON, Wis. (AP) - Two players from the University of Wisconsin and one from Marquette are on watch lists for national basketball awards.

Badger Nigel Hayes is among 20 candidates for the Julius Erving Small Forward of the Year Award, while teammate Bronson Koenig is on the watch list for the Bob Cousy Award, recognizing the top point guard.

Hayes started all 40 games for Wisconsin last season, finishing with 12.4 points per game and 6.2 rebounds per game. Koenig started the final 24 games last season, averaging 11.5 points and 2.7 assists per game.

Marquette freshman Henry Ellenson of Rice Lake, Wisconsin, is on the watch list for the 2016 Karl Malone Power Forward of the Year Award.

The Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame announced the watch lists Tuesday. Each list will be narrowed to 10 in mid-February.

Copyright © 2019 The Washington Times, LLC.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times welcomes your comments on Spot.im, our third-party provider. Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide