- Associated Press - Tuesday, September 1, 2015

NEW YORK (AP) - Fiction writer Vanessa Hua and nonfiction writer Meehan Crist are among this year’s recipients of the Rona Jaffe Awards, $30,000 prizes for emerging female authors.

Hua is working on a novel about a Chinese factory girl, and Crist is studying traumatic brain injury.

The other four winners announced Tuesday were poets Ashley M. Jones and Britteney Black Rose Kapri and fiction writers Amanda Rae and Natalie Haney Tilghman.

The Jaffe grants will help the winners complete their current projects, whether allowing Tilghman to travel to Italy for research on her novel about an Italian-American family or giving Jones the time to work on her debut collection, “Magic City Gospel.”

The awards were established in 1995. Previous winners include Lan Samantha Chang, Eula Biss and Tracy K. Smith.

Copyright © 2019 The Washington Times, LLC.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times welcomes your comments on Spot.im, our third-party provider. Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide