- Associated Press - Tuesday, September 1, 2015

BROOKLYN CENTER, Minn. (AP) - Three former U.S. Olympians headline the Minnesota State High School League’s 2015 Hall of Fame class.

Neal Broten, Briana Scurry and Carrie Tollefson are among new inductees announced Tuesday.

Broten was a hockey standout at Roseau High School before playing with “Miracle on Ice” Team USA in the 1980 Lake Placid Olympics.

Scurry was a soccer goalkeeper with Anoka High School before leading Team USA to gold in the Olympics and the World Cup.

Tollefson was a four-time cross country state champion representing Dawson-Boyd/Lac qui Parle Valley. She was on the 2004 U.S. Olympic team as a middle distance runner. Two years later, Tollefson won the U.S. National Cross Country Championship.

The induction ceremony is scheduled Oct. 25 in St. Paul. The league’s Hall of Fame started in 1991.

Copyright © 2018 The Washington Times, LLC.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times is switching its third-party commenting system from Disqus to Spot.IM. You will need to either create an account with Spot.im or if you wish to use your Disqus account look under the Conversation for the link "Have a Disqus Account?". Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide