- Associated Press - Tuesday, September 1, 2015

LAS VEGAS (AP) - The Clark County Commission has its newest member.

Longtime state Democratic lawmaker Marilyn Kirkpatrick was sworn in Tuesday to fill the unexpired term of Tom Collins representing a district covering parts of North Las Vegas and rural northern county towns.

The ceremony took place before the start of the commission meeting in Las Vegas.

Gov. Brian Sandoval appointed Kirkpatrick on Aug. 18, after Collins’ resigned suddenly Aug. 10 citing what he called family matters. Kirkpatrick’s term expires Jan. 1, 2017.

Kirkpatrick was first elected to the state Legislature in 2004, and served as Assembly speaker in 2013. She would have been prevented by term limits from seeking re-election.

Sandoval, a Republican, was required to appoint a Democrat because that’s Collins’ party.

All seven commission members are Democrats.

Copyright © 2018 The Washington Times, LLC.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times is switching its third-party commenting system from Disqus to Spot.IM. You will need to either create an account with Spot.im or if you wish to use your Disqus account look under the Conversation for the link "Have a Disqus Account?". Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide