By Associated Press - Monday, September 14, 2015

NEW YORK (AP) - Wilson Kipsang will defend his title at the New York City Marathon in November.

The former world-record holder from Kenya won in his NYC Marathon debut last year.

Event organizer New York Road Runners announced Monday that the other podium finishers from 2014 will also return.

Lelisa Desisa of Ethiopia was second last year then went on to win the Boston Marathon in April. The third-place finisher was countryman Gebre Gebremariam, the 2010 champ in New York.

The 2009 winner, American Meb Keflezighi, will run his 10th NYC Marathon at age 40. The 2014 Boston Marathon champ was fourth in New York last year.

The NYC Marathon is Nov. 1.

Copyright © 2021 The Washington Times, LLC.

Please read our comment policy before commenting.

Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide