- Associated Press - Wednesday, September 16, 2015

LANSING, Mich. (AP) - Sixteen Michigan school districts operating with deficits for more than five years are expected to come under oversight of the state Treasury Department under a new law.

State Superintendent Brian Whiston listed the districts Thursday in a quarterly update to lawmakers.

Five districts - Detroit, Highland Park, Muskegon Heights, Benton Harbor and Pontiac - already are operating under a state-appointed emergency manager or consent agreement.

The other 11 districts will have to submit an enhanced deficit elimination plan to the state treasurer. They include Bridgeport-Spaulding, Clintondale, Flint, Hazel Park, Lincoln, Mackinaw City, Mt. Clemens, New Haven, Southgate, Vanderbilt and Westwood.

Whiston says he hopes the oversight function eventually is returned to the Education Department but for now “it’s most important to do what’s right for the kids in the district.”

Sign up for Daily Newsletters

Manage Newsletters

Copyright © 2021 The Washington Times, LLC.

Please read our comment policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide