- Associated Press - Wednesday, September 23, 2015

ZURICH (AP) - Barcelona will begin its quest for the Club World Cup title against either Club America of Mexico or the Asian Champions League winner.

Barcelona has a bye in the first round and will start in the semifinals on Dec. 17 in Yokohama.

River Plate of Argentina, the Copa Libertadores champion in South America, will also begin in the semifinals. It will play in Osaka against the African Champions League winner, Auckland City of New Zealand or the J-League winner.

Auckland City, the Oceania Champions League champion, opens the tournament on Dec. 10 against the J-League winner.

All seven qualified teams will be known by November or early December.

The tournament’s draw took place at FIFA’s headquarters on Wednesday.

It will be the 12th edition of FIFA’s Club World Cup, and the seventh in Japan.

“To bring the best football clubs in the world together is a great achievement,” FIFA President Sepp Blatter said.

“The basis of our game is the clubs. Club football is part of football, and therefore of FIFA, so it was important for us to organize this tournament.”

The tournament’s final takes place in Yokohama on Dec. 20.

Barcelona last won the title in 2011. River Plate is playing in the competition for the first time.

Real Madrid is the defending champion.

Copyright © 2019 The Washington Times, LLC.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times welcomes your comments on Spot.im, our third-party provider. Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide