- Associated Press - Thursday, September 24, 2015

SANTIAGO, Chile (AP) - This year’s Davis Cup finalists Britain and Belgium have been handed home draws in the first round of the 2016 competition.

The draw for next year’s elite World Group, which took place at the International Tennis Federation’s annual general meeting on Wednesday, gave Belgium a home fixture against Croatia while Britain will host Japan from March 4-6, 2016.

Belgium will host this year’s final against an Andy Murray-led Britain at Ghent on clay from Nov. 27-29.

Australia, France, Germany, Italy, Poland and Serbia will also host matches in the opening round. Australia plays the United States - the only country to have won more Davis Cup titles than it - in the first round.

Elsewhere in next year’s opening World Group round, Serbia hosts Kazakhstan, Switzerland plays at Italy, Poland is at home against Argentina, Canada travels to France and Germany hosts Czech Republic.

The 2016 quarterfinals have been set for July 15-17, the semifinals and World Group playoffs for Sept. 16-18 and the 2016 final for Nov. 25-27.

Copyright © 2019 The Washington Times, LLC.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times welcomes your comments on Spot.im, our third-party provider. Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide