- Associated Press - Friday, September 25, 2015

LITTLE ROCK, Ark. (AP) - Democratic State Rep. Michael John Gray of Augusta has been elected the party’s minority leader in the state House.

Democratic Party spokesman H.L. Moody said Friday that Gray was elected to succeed Rep. Eddie Armstrong as minority leader. Gray represents House District 47 that includes all of Woodruff County and parts of Independence, Jackson and White counties.

Democrats also elected Rep. David Whitaker of Fayetteville as minority whip and Rep. Bob Johnson of Jacksonville as the caucus treasurer.

Democrats hold 35 seats in the 100 member House with Republicans holding 64 seats. There is one independent.

Copyright © 2019 The Washington Times, LLC.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times welcomes your comments on Spot.im, our third-party provider. Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide