- Associated Press - Tuesday, September 29, 2015

VIENNA (AP) - Already-qualified Austria will be without three regular starters in midfield for next month’s European Championship qualifiers against Montenegro and Liechtenstein.

Besiktas player Veli Kavlak and Salzburg’s Christoph Leitgeb and Yasin Pehlivan have been ruled out because of injuries and were missing from the 23-man squad announced Tuesday by coach Marcel Koller.

The most notable newcomer was Rapid Vienna midfielder Stefan Schwab, who got his first call-up for the national team.

Austria plays Montenegro in Podgorica on Oct. 9 before hosting Liechtenstein in Vienna three days later in the final two rounds of qualifying.

Austria has secured the top spot in Group G with 22 points from eight matches. Russia, with 14 points, Sweden (12) and Montenegro (11) are vying for second and third place.



Goalkeepers: Robert Almer (Austria Vienna), Heinz Lindner (Eintracht Frankfurt), Ramazan Oezcan (Ingolstadt)

Defenders: Aleksandar Dragovic (Dynamo Kiev), Christian Fuchs (Leicester), Gyoergy Garics (Darmstadt), Florian Klein (Stuttgart), Michael Madl (Sturm Graz), Sebastian Proedl (Watford), Markus Suttner (Ingolstadt), Kevin Wimmer (Tottenham)

Midfielders: David Alaba (Bayern Munich), Marko Arnautovic (Stoke), Julian Baumgartlinger (Mainz), Martin Harnik (Stuttgart), Stefan Ilsanker (Leipzig), Jakob Jantscher (Luzern), Zlatko Junuzovic (Werder Bremen), Stefan Schwab (Rapid Vienna), Marcel Sabitzer (Leipzig)

Forwards: Lukas Hinterseer (Ingolstadt), Rubin Okotie (1860 Munich), Marc Janko (Basel)

Copyright © 2019 The Washington Times, LLC.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times welcomes your comments on Spot.im, our third-party provider. Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide