- Associated Press - Tuesday, September 29, 2015

LOS ANGELES (AP) - The film academy is recognizing five new screenwriters with its 30th annual Nicholl Fellowships.

The awards came after an international screenwriting competition, with winners receiving mentorship and financial support to complete a feature-length screenplay in the next year.

Each winner will receive the first installment of their $35,000 prizes at a Nov. 4 ceremony at the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences’ headquarters in Beverly Hills.

The presentation will include live-reads of selected scenes from their winning screenplays.

More than 7,400 scripts were considered to determine the five winners: Elizabeth Chomko, “What They Had”; Andrew Friedhof, “Great Falls”; Anthony Grieco, “Best Sellers”; Sam Regnier, “Free Agent”; Amy Tofte, “Addis Abeka.”

Copyright © 2019 The Washington Times, LLC.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times welcomes your comments on Spot.im, our third-party provider. Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide