- Associated Press - Wednesday, September 30, 2015

LOS ANGELES (AP) - The International Women’s Media Foundation will present its annual Leadership Honor to filmmaker Abigail Disney.

The organization announced Wednesday that Disney will be recognized at the Courage in Journalism Awards in New York on Oct. 21.

Disney has produced dozens of socially conscious documentaries and recently directed her first: “The Armor of Light,” about a minister preaching against gun violence.

The Courage in Journalism Awards honor female journalists who demonstrate particular bravery. Other honorees at the 2015 ceremony are Mwape Kumwenda of Muvi Television in Zambia, Daily Beast and Newsweek contributor Anna Nemtsova in Russia, and freelance reporter Lourdes Ramirez in Honduras.

Retired Associated Press special correspondent Linda Deutsch will receive a lifetime achievement award.

Copyright © 2018 The Washington Times, LLC.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times is switching its third-party commenting system from Disqus to Spot.IM. You will need to either create an account with Spot.im or if you wish to use your Disqus account look under the Conversation for the link "Have a Disqus Account?". Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide