- Associated Press - Wednesday, September 30, 2015

NEW YORK (AP) - Supreme Court Justice Ruth Bader Ginsburg is among four people who have been awarded the Franklin D. Roosevelt Four Freedoms Awards.

The awards were presented Tuesday night in New York City.

The other winners were Dance Theatre of Harlem founder Arthur Mitchell, North Carolina NAACP President the Rev. Dr. William Barber III and Dr. Olufunmilayo Olopade, who helped diagnose and treat breast cancer in underserved patients.

The Four Freedom Awards are presented each year by the Roosevelt Institute to those whose achievements are in line with Roosevelt’s principles. The awards focus on freedom of speech, freedom of worship, freedom from want and freedom from fear.

Past honorees include Presidents Jimmy Carter and Bill Clinton, Vice President Joe Biden and the Dalai Lama.

About 400 people attended the ceremony.

Copyright © 2018 The Washington Times, LLC.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times welcomes your comments on Spot.im, our third-party provider. Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide