- Associated Press - Wednesday, September 30, 2015

LITTLE ROCK, Ark. (AP) - The U.S. Department of Education is honoring five Arkansas schools as National Blue Ribbon Schools for their overall academic excellence.

U.S. Education Secretary Arne Duncan announced the honorees Tuesday. The Arkansas schools are among 285 public and 50 private schools that will be recognized at a ceremony in Washington in November.

The Arkansas schools are considered exemplary high performing schools, meaning they are among the state’s highest achievers in student test scores and high school graduation rates.

The five Blue Ribbon schools are: Mount Pleasant Elementary School in Izard County, Park Magnet School in Hot Springs, St. Vincent de Paul Catholic School in Rogers, Valley View Junior High School in Jonesboro and Vandergriff Elementary School in Fayetteville.

Copyright © 2019 The Washington Times, LLC.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times welcomes your comments on Spot.im, our third-party provider. Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide