- Associated Press - Tuesday, April 19, 2016

PIERRE, S.D. (AP) - The South Dakota State Historical Society is recognizing people and organizations for their work to preserve state history.

The society will present the Governor’s Awards for History on April 30.

Award winners are: Shebby Lee of Rapid City; Amber Nash of Waubay; Chuck Vollan of Brookings; the Mount Rushmore Society of Rapid City; and the Verendrye Museum’s “Bring It Home” Committee of Fort Pierre.

Gov. Dennis Daugaard says the people and organizations should be commended for their efforts. He says their work will keep the state’s past alive for future generations.

Copyright © 2018 The Washington Times, LLC.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times welcomes your comments on Spot.im, our third-party provider. Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide