- Associated Press - Tuesday, April 19, 2016

STILLWATER, Okla. (AP) - Three-time NCAA wrestling champion Alex Dieringer of Oklahoma State has been named the Big 12 Wrestler of the Year and OSU coach John Smith is the Big 12 Coach of the Year.

The awards were announced Monday.

Dieringer was 33-0 during his senior season and also was awarded the Dan Hodge Trophy as the top wrestler in the nation.

Smith is Coach of the Year after OSU won its 50th Big 12 title and finished second at the NCAA Championships. Seven Cowboys won Big 12 titles and Dieringer and Dean Heil each won national championships.

Copyright © 2018 The Washington Times, LLC.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times welcomes your comments on Spot.im, our third-party provider. Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide