- Associated Press - Wednesday, April 20, 2016

NEW YORK (AP) - A name has been added to this year’s list of Pulitzer Prize winners.

John Hackworth, editor of Sun Newspapers in Charlotte Harbor, Florida, was initially named the winner of the Pulitzer Prize for editorial writing. On Wednesday, the Pulitzer office in New York said Brian Gleason wrote three of the eight editorials and had also won the prize.

The newspaper’s executive editor, Chris Porter, submitted the original entry letter citing only Hackworth. He said it was an honest mistake.

Gleason was with the Sun for 26 years and left the newspaper in August. He now works as the communications manager for Florida’s Charlotte County government.

He contacted the newspaper after the awards were announced Monday and said he had written some of the pieces, which were about a deadly assault of an inmate by guards and did not run with a byline.

“I’m honored and humbled to share this prize with my friend and colleague John Hackworth, who shared my outrage at the conditions at the Charlotte Correctional Institution that created such a callous indifference to the lives of the inmates who were killed there,” Gleason wrote.

He said both he and Hackworth are “indebted” to staff writer Adam Kreger, whose reporting on prison deaths and guard behavior was “the bedrock beneath our editorials.”

Copyright © 2018 The Washington Times, LLC.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times welcomes your comments on Spot.im, our third-party provider. Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide