By Associated Press - Monday, April 25, 2016

NEW YORK (AP) - Toronto’s Dwane Casey has won the Rudy Tomjanovich Award, given by the Professional Basketball Writers Association to an NBA coach who combines cooperation with the media and fans with excellence on the court.

Casey beat out Charlotte’s Steve Clifford, the Clippers’ Doc Rivers, Boston’s Brad Stevens and Detroit’s Stan Van Gundy in voting Monday.

Casey led Toronto to a franchise-best 56-26 record and the No. 2 seed in the Eastern Conference. He will be presented the trophy Tuesday before the Raptors host Indiana, with their series tied 2-2.

The award is named for former NBA coach Rudy Tomjanovich, who led the Rockets to consecutive titles in 1994 and 1995. Golden State’s Steve Kerr won last year.

Sign up for Daily Newsletters

Manage Newsletters

Copyright © 2021 The Washington Times, LLC.

Please read our comment policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide