- Associated Press - Monday, April 4, 2016

BATON ROUGE, La. (AP) - Gov. John Bel Edwards’ request that President Barack Obama expand the existing federal disaster declaration for Louisiana to include additional parishes has been granted.

Edwards announced Monday that five parishes were added: Catahoula, East Carroll, Franklin, Lincoln, and St. Helena.

Edwards requested assistance for nine more parishes - Catahoula, East Carroll, Franklin, Jackson, Lincoln, Rapides, Red River, Sabine, and St. Helena - on March 24. And, two days later, Jackson, Rapides, Red River, and Sabine were added.

Edwards says the flooding assistance will make a difference for families who need it.

Previously approved parishes were: Allen, Ascension, Beauregard, Bienville, Bossier, Caddo, Calcasieu, Caldwell, Claiborne, DeSoto, Grant, Jackson, LaSalle, Livingston, Madison, Morehouse, Natchitoches, Ouachita, Rapides, Red River, Richland, Sabine, St. Tammany, Tangipahoa, Union, Vernon, Washington, Webster, West Carroll, and Winn.

Copyright © 2018 The Washington Times, LLC.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times welcomes your comments on Spot.im, our third-party provider. Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide