- Associated Press - Wednesday, April 6, 2016

PEARL, Miss. (AP) - Two more counties have been added to Mississippi’s disaster declaration following recent severe flooding that wreaked havoc across the state last month.

George County and Pearl River County are now eligible for the Federal Emergency Management Agency’s Individual Assistance Program. The program is designed to help applicants with temporary housing, uninsured or under insured property loses and other disaster related expenses.

Bolivar, Clarke, Coahoma, Forrest, Greene, Jones, Marion, Panola, Perry, Quitman, Sunflower, Tunica, Washington and Wayne counties were previously declared. Additional counties could be added pending further damage assessments.

Residents and businesses affected by the disaster should apply by going to www.disasterassistance.gov or by calling 1-800-621-FEMA (3362).

Copyright © 2018 The Washington Times, LLC.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times welcomes your comments on Spot.im, our third-party provider. Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide