- Associated Press - Wednesday, April 6, 2016

JERUSALEM (AP) - Oscar-winning actress Helen Mirren has agreed to host the award ceremony of Israel’s Genesis Prize in Jerusalem.

Organizers of the award, known as “the Jewish Nobel,” announced the selection of Mirren on Wednesday. The $1 million prize is being awarded to Israeli-American violinist Itzhak Perlman for his accomplishments as a musician, teacher and advocate for the disabled.

“Dame Mirren has been an outspoken supporter of Israel, and we look forward to the elegance and grace she will bring to the ceremony,” said Stan Polovets, co-founder and chairman of the Genesis Prize Foundation.

In a statement, Mirren said she was “honored and humbled” to host the ceremony. “My connection to Israel and the Jewish people has truly been a part of making me what I am today, and I am very excited to be returning to this great country,” she said.

Mirren is one of the few actors to have won the so-called Triple Crown of acting - collecting an Oscar, Tony and four Emmy awards over the years. She received her Academy Award for the 2006 film “The Queen.”

The foundation said Mirren, who is not Jewish, has visited Israel several times, including a stint as a volunteer on a kibbutz, or collective farm, in 1967. She also has been a vocal critic of pro-Palestinian activists who have called for a cultural boycott of Israel.

She played the role of a former Mossad agent in “The Debt,” and in “Woman in Gold” she played an elderly Jewish refugee who fought the Austrian government for a decade to reclaim an iconic Gustav Klimpt painting stolen from her family by the Nazis.

Perlman is the third recipient of the Genesis Prize, which is to be presented by Prime Minister Benjamin Netanyahu on June 23. Perlman intends to use his prize money for projects to assist individuals with disabilities and to develop young musicians of special talent, prize organizers said.

Actor Michael Douglas was last year’s winner, and Michael Bloomberg, the billionaire businessman and former New York City mayor, won the inaugural prize. Former late-night talk show host Jay Leno hosted the first two award ceremonies.

The prize was inaugurated in 2014 and is run in a partnership among the Israeli prime minister’s office, the private Genesis Prize Foundation and the chairman’s office of the Jewish Agency, a nonprofit group with close ties to the Israeli government. It is funded by a $100 million endowment established by the foundation.

Copyright © 2018 The Washington Times, LLC.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times welcomes your comments on Spot.im, our third-party provider. Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide