- Associated Press - Wednesday, April 6, 2016

NEW YORK (AP) - Books about LGBT rights, the Jazz Age and tap dancing are among the winners of the 81st annual Anisfield-Wolf Book Awards, given for literature that confronts racism and examines diversity.

Five honorees were announced Wednesday by the Cleveland Foundation, which presents the awards. The winners include Mary Morris’ novel “The Jazz Palace,” Rowan Ricardo Phillips’ poetry collection “Heaven” and two works of nonfiction, Lillian Faderman’s “The Gay Revolution: The Story of the Struggle” and Brian Siebert’s “What the Eye Hears: A History of Tap Dancing.” The sociologist Orlando Patterson was cited for lifetime achievement.

Previous winners include the Rev. Martin Luther King Jr., Toni Morrison, Langston Hughes and Nadine Gordimer

Copyright © 2018 The Washington Times, LLC.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times welcomes your comments on Spot.im, our third-party provider. Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide