- Associated Press - Friday, August 12, 2016

HARRISBURG, Pa. (AP) - Motorists in Pennsylvania must now make sure car seats face backward for all children until they’re 2 years old.

The requirement is part of a new state law that went into effect Friday. It directs police to issue warnings for the first year, after which violations will cost $125 in fines, costs and fees.

The measure makes Pennsylvania the fourth state to enact rear-facing child seat regulations for the youngest of children after California, New Jersey and Oklahoma.

Advocates say facing children toward the back of the car dramatically lowers their risk of death or serious injury during crashes.

The Pennsylvania Transportation Department says children should remain in rear-facing seats until they reach the manufacturer’s height or weight limits.

Copyright © 2018 The Washington Times, LLC.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times welcomes your comments on Spot.im, our third-party provider. Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide