- Associated Press - Friday, August 12, 2016

PROVIDENCE, R.I. (AP) - Seven Rhode Island municipalities have been awarded grants as part of an economic development competition for smaller, post-industrial cities.

Rhode Island is participating in the Working Cities Challenge competition coordinated by the Federal Reserve Bank of Boston.

The challenge was launched in Massachusetts in 2013.

Bank President Eric Rosengren and Rhode Island Gov. Gina Raimondo announced on Friday the municipalities that were awarded $15,000 design grants. They are: Central Falls, Cranston, East Providence, Newport, Pawtucket, Providence and Westerly.

The grants aim to help cities develop their applications for larger, multi-year awards.

The municipalities are working to address issues affecting lower-income residents, such as workforce development, neighborhood development and immigrant entrepreneurship.

Raimondo, a Democrat, says the way to turn Rhode Island’s economy around is one community at a time.

Copyright © 2019 The Washington Times, LLC.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times welcomes your comments on Spot.im, our third-party provider. Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide