- Associated Press - Monday, August 22, 2016

BISMARCK, N.D. (AP) - Four North Dakota teachers are among 213 nationwide that the Obama administration is recognizing for their efforts in teaching math and sciences.

The White House on Monday announced this year’s winners of the Presidential Award for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching.

The North Dakota educators receiving the award are Jonathan Fugleberg, a math teacher at May-Port CG High School in Mayville; Michelle Strand, a science teacher at West Fargo High School; Angela Stoa-Lipp, a math teacher at Kennedy Elementary School in Fargo; and Loni Miller, a science teacher at Saxvik Elementary School in Bismarck.

The awardees represent all 50 states, the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico, U.S. Territories and the Defense Department Education Activity schools.

Winners get a $10,000 award from the National Science Foundation to be used at their discretion. They will be honored in Washington Sept. 8.

Sign up for Daily Newsletters

Manage Newsletters

Copyright © 2020 The Washington Times, LLC.

Please read our comment policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide