- Associated Press - Friday, August 26, 2016

COLUMBUS, Ohio (AP) - Ohio State has appointed four more players captains.

Coach Urban Meyer said Friday that cornerback Gareon Conley, offensive lineman Billy Price, defensive end Tyquan Lewis and linebacker Joe Burger will join previously appointed captains quarterback J.T. Barrett, center Pat Elflein and linebacker Raekwon McMillan.

All but Burger are returning starters this year. Burger, a fifth-year senior and three-time Academic All-Big Ten Conference honoree, is a former walk-on who earned a scholarship.

The players were chosen by a vote of their teammates. Barrett is the only returning captain.

The Buckeyes open the season at home Sept. 3 against Bowling Green.

Sign up for Daily Newsletters

Manage Newsletters

Copyright © 2020 The Washington Times, LLC.

Please read our comment policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide