- Associated Press - Wednesday, August 31, 2016

The Black College Football Hall of Fame has established the Deacon Jones Trophy, which will be awarded yearly to the most outstanding player at a historically black college or university.

The winner will be announced Feb. 25 in Atlanta.

The Black College Football Hall of Fame was founded by former NFL quarterbacks Doug Williams and James Harris. In May, it was announced the BCFHOF will make a permanent home at the Hall of Fame Village in Canton, Ohio, where the Pro Football Hall of Fame is located.

A watch list of 52 players from all levels of college football for the Deacon Jones Trophy was also announced.

Jones played at Mississippi Valley State in the Southwestern Athletic Conference before going on to a Hall of Fame career in the NFL.

Copyright © 2018 The Washington Times, LLC.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times is switching its third-party commenting system from Disqus to Spot.IM. You will need to either create an account with Spot.im or if you wish to use your Disqus account look under the Conversation for the link "Have a Disqus Account?". Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide