- Associated Press - Thursday, August 4, 2016

BUFFALO, N.Y. (AP) - State environmental officials have issued a drought warning for a large portion of western New York.

The state Department of Environmental Conservation’s drought warning covers the following counties: Allegany, Cattaraugus, Cayuga, Chautauqua, Chemung, Erie, Genesee, Jefferson, Livingston, Monroe, Niagara, Onondaga, Ontario, Orleans, Oswego, Seneca, Schuyler, Steuben, Tompkins, Wayne, Wyoming and Yates.

The rest of the state remains under a drought watch.

Recent rains helped ease drought conditions in much of the state, but drier conditions persist in western New York.

While there are no state-mandated water restrictions, New York residents are strongly encouraged to voluntarily conserve water.

Local water restriction may apply.

Copyright © 2018 The Washington Times, LLC.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times is switching its third-party commenting system from Disqus to Spot.IM. You will need to either create an account with Spot.im or if you wish to use your Disqus account look under the Conversation for the link "Have a Disqus Account?". Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More

Click to Hide