- Associated Press - Tuesday, December 13, 2016

RALEIGH, N.C. (AP) - Democrats in the North Carolina state Senate are keeping their same leadership team in place for the next regular session of the General Assembly starting next month.

Senate Democrats meeting Monday chose Dan Blue of Raleigh as the minority leader, Terry Van Duyn of Asheville as minority whip and Ben Clark of Raeford as caucus secretary.

Blue has held the job since March 2014, succeeding Sen. Martin Nesbitt of Asheville just before Nesbitt died. Blue was House speaker in the early 1990s.

Democrats will hold only 15 of the 50 seats in the Senate when the next two-year session convenes Jan. 11. Republicans gained one seat during the Nov. 8 election.

Copyright © 2018 The Washington Times, LLC.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times is switching its third-party commenting system from Disqus to Spot.IM. You will need to either create an account with Spot.im or if you wish to use your Disqus account look under the Conversation for the link "Have a Disqus Account?". Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More

Click to Hide