- Associated Press - Wednesday, December 14, 2016

NASHVILLE, Tenn. (AP) - The leadership positions among Democrats’ small state Senate caucus will remain unchanged for the 110th Tennessee General Assembly.

Lee Harris of Memphis was elected to another term as minority leader and Jeff Yarbro of Nashville will remain caucus chairman.

Democrats hold five of 33 seats in the upper chamber of the state Legislature.

Harris says Democrats will work to publicize what he calls a “a positive economic agenda for working and middle class Tennesseans.”

The legislative session gets underway on Jan. 10 with new leadership among Senate Republicans following the retirement of Speaker Ron Ramsey of Blountville. GOP members have nominated longtime Sen. Randy McNally of Oak Ridge to become the new speaker, which also carries the title of lieutenant governor.

Copyright © 2019 The Washington Times, LLC.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times welcomes your comments on Spot.im, our third-party provider. Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide