- Associated Press - Friday, December 16, 2016

FRANKFORT, Ky. (AP) - Kentucky Senate Democrats have re-elected two of their top leaders.

Sen. Ray Jones of Pikeville was selected by his colleagues as Democratic floor leader and Sen. Julian Carroll of Frankfort was re-elected as majority whip. Sen. Dorsey Ridley of Henderson was elected as caucus chairman, replacing Sen. Gerald Neal of Louisville.

The leadership team will serve for the next two years in the state Senate and will face daunting challenges in a chamber dominated by Republicans. Republicans hold 27 of the 38 seats, giving them a super majority.

Republicans also won a majority in the state House of Representatives for the first time since 1921. House Democrats have not yet held leadership elections for the legislative session that begins Jan. 3.

Copyright © 2018 The Washington Times, LLC.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times is switching its third-party commenting system from Disqus to Spot.IM. You will need to either create an account with Spot.im or if you wish to use your Disqus account look under the Conversation for the link "Have a Disqus Account?". Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide