- Associated Press - Friday, December 2, 2016

JACKSON, Miss. (AP) - Republican Rep. Gregg Harper of Mississippi has been named chairman of U.S. House Administration Committee.

He was selected for the post by Speaker Paul Ryan of Wisconsin.

Harper is the only one of Mississippi’s four U.S. House members to hold a chairmanship.

Rep. Bennie Thompson was chairman of the Homeland Security Committee when Democrats held the House majority, and is now his party’s ranking member on the committee under a Republican chairman.

The Administration Committee resolves election contests. It also oversees daily operations of the House, including management of office buildings on Capitol Hill, budgets of other committees and of each member’s office. It has oversight of the U.S. Capitol Police, the Library of Congress, the Government Printing Office and the Smithsonian Institution.



Click to Read More

Click to Hide