- Associated Press - Thursday, February 11, 2016

RICHMOND, Va. (AP) - Federal agriculture officials say farmers in the city of Suffolk and Greensville County are eligible for emergency loan assistance to cover losses from rains from September through December.

Those localities are deemed primary disaster areas. The U.S. Department of Agriculture has also identified as contiguous disaster areas a number of localities bordering Suffolk and Greensville County, including Dinwiddie, Isle of Wight, Southampton and Sussex counties.

Cities designated as contiguous are Chesapeake, Emporia, Hampton, Newport News and Portsmouth.

Both designations make those localities eligible for certain assistance from the Farm Service Agency.

Each loan application is based on production losses and the repayment ability of the applicant.



Click to Read More

Click to Hide