- Associated Press - Friday, February 12, 2016

SPRINGFIELD, Ill. (AP) - A former U.S. transportation secretary, the founder of a breast cancer charity and an NPR host are recipients of this year’s Order of Lincoln Awards.

Illinois Gov. Bruce Rauner on Friday announced the six people receiving the state’s highest honor this year for professional achievement and public service. This year’s winners include Susan G. Komen for the Cure founder Nancy Goodman Brinker, former U.S. Transportation Secretary Ray LaHood and CME Group chairman emeritus Leo Melamed.

Other recipients include NPR “Weekend Edition Saturday” host Scott Simon, Illinois Poet Laureate Kevin Stein and retired Caterpillar president Robert Gilmore.

The awards will be presented May 7 in Peoria.


This story has been corrected to … APNewsNow. Corrects third paragraph to “Weekend Edition Saturday” not “Weekend Edition Sunday.”

Copyright © 2018 The Washington Times, LLC.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times is switching its third-party commenting system from Disqus to Spot.IM. You will need to either create an account with Spot.im or if you wish to use your Disqus account look under the Conversation for the link "Have a Disqus Account?". Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More

Click to Hide