- Associated Press - Thursday, February 18, 2016

Midfielder Carli Lloyd is among four Americans chosen for the first Women’s World XI.

Lloyd’s hat trick led the U.S. past Japan in last year’s World Cup final. She is joined on the team by American goalkeeper Hope Solo and defenders Meghan Klingenberg and Julie Johnston.

The international All-Star squad was announced Thursday by FIFPro, soccer’s world players’ union. Players from 33 nationalities in 20 countries voted.

Other selections include defenders Kadeisha Buchanan (Canada) and Wendie Renard (France); midfielders Amandine Henry (France) and Aya Miyama (Japan); and forwards Eugenie Le Sommer (France), Anja Mittag (Germany) and Celia Sasic (Germany).

Lloyd was voted FIFA Women’s Player of the Year last month and earned the Golden Boot as top player at the World Cup. Buchanan, who attends the University of West Virginia, was voted Best Young Player at the World Cup.

Sign up for Daily Newsletters

Copyright © 2019 The Washington Times, LLC.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times welcomes your comments on Spot.im, our third-party provider. Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide