- Associated Press - Friday, February 19, 2016

ALBANY, N.Y. (AP) - Gov. Andrew Cuomo has appointed 10 experienced trial court judges to fill openings on midlevel Appellate Division courts across the state.

In the First Department, the court hears initial appeals from trial courts in Manhattan and the Bronx. Cuomo has named Justices Ellen Gesmer, Marcy Louise Kahn and Troy Karen Webber.

In the Second Department, covering Long Island, the lower Hudson Valley, Brooklyn, Queens and Staten Island, chosen are Justices Francesca Connelly and Valerie Brathwaite Nelson.

In the Third Department, covering 28 upstate counties, new appellate justices are Sharon Aarons and Robert Mulvey.

The Fourth Department covers 22 counties in western and central New York. New Justices are John Curran, Patrick NeMoyer and Shirley Troutman.

Copyright © 2018 The Washington Times, LLC.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times is switching its third-party commenting system from Disqus to Spot.IM. You will need to either create an account with Spot.im or if you wish to use your Disqus account look under the Conversation for the link "Have a Disqus Account?". Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide