- Associated Press - Friday, February 19, 2016

JACKSON, Miss. (AP) - The Mississippi House voted 80-39 Friday to pass House Bill 1523, which would protect people from being penalized if the act on their beliefs that marriage is only for a man and a woman, that premarital sex is wrong, and that male and female genders are fixed at birth and can’t change. A yes vote was a vote in favor of the bill, while a no vote was a vote against the bill.


Republicans voting yes (73):

Aguirre, Tupelo; Arnold, Booneville; Baker, Brandon; Barnett, Waynesboro; Barton, Moss Point; Beckett, Bruce; D. Bell, Fulton; Bennett, Long Beach; Bomgar, Madison; Bounds, Philadelphia;

Boyd, Mantachie; Brown, Nettleton; Busby, Pascagoula; Byrd, Petal; Carpenter, Burnsville; Chism, Columbus; Crawford, Pass Christian; Criswell, Olive Branch; Currie, Brookhaven; DeLano, Biloxi;

Denny, Jackson; Eubanks, Walls; Eure, Biloxi; Formby, Picayune; Foster, Hernando; Frierson, Poplarville; Gipson, Braxton; Guice, Ocean Springs; Gunn, Clinton; Hale, Nesbit;

Haney, Gulfport; Henley, Southaven; Hood, Ackerman; Hopkins, Southaven; Horne, Meridian; M. Huddleston, Pontotoc; C. Johnson, Hattiesburg; Kinkade, Byhalia; Ladner, Poplarville; Lamar, Senatobia;

Mangold, Brookhaven; Massengill, Hickory Flat; McLeod, Lucedale; McNeal, Leakesville; Mettetal, Sardis; Mims, McComb; Monsour, Vicksburg; Moore, Brandon; Morgan, Morgantown; Oliver, Winona;

Patterson, Biloxi; Pigott, Tylertown; Powell, Brandon; Read, Gautier; Roberson, Starkville; M. Rogers, New Albany; R. Rogers, Pearl; Rushing, Decatur; Sanford, Collins; Shirley, Quitman;

Shows, Ellisville; Smith, Columbus; Snowden, Meridian; Staples, Laurel; Steverson, Ripley; Touchstone, Hattiesburg; Tullos, Raleigh; Turner, Baldwyn; Weathersby, Florence; White, West;

Willis, Diamondhead; Wilson, Madison; Zuber, Ocean Springs.


Democrat voting yes (7):

Bain, Corinth; Cockerham, Magnolia; B. Evans, Monticello; M. Evans, Preston; Jackson, Como; Miles, Forest; Sullivan, Okolona;


Republicans voting no (1):

Barker, Hattiesburg.


Democrats voting no (38):

Anderson, Escatawpa; Bailey, Greenville; Banks, Jackson; Baria, Bay St. Louis; Williams-Barnes, Gulfport; C. Bell, Jackson; Blackmon, Canton; Burnett, Tunica; Calhoun, Jackson;

Campbell, Jackson; Clark, Pickens; Clarke, Jackson; Coleman, Mound Bayou; Denton, Vicksburg; Dortch, Raymond; Faulkner, Holly Springs; Gibbs, West Point;

Hines, Greenville; Holland, Plantersville; Holloway, Hazlehurst; R. Huddleston, Sumner; Hughes, Oxford;

R. Johnson, Natchez; Karriem, Columbus; Mickens, Brooksville; Middleton, Port Gibson; Myers, McComb; Paden, Clarksdale; Perkins, Greenwood; Reynolds, Charleston; Scott, Laurel;

Straughter, Belzoni; Sykes, Jackson; Thomas, Indianola; Walker, Carthage; Watson, Hattiesburg; Wooten, Jackson; Young, Meridian.


Democrats not voting (2):

Dixon, Raymond; Ellis, Starkville;


Democrats absent (1):

Horan, Grenada;

Copyright © 2018 The Washington Times, LLC.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times is switching its third-party commenting system from Disqus to Spot.IM. You will need to either create an account with Spot.im or if you wish to use your Disqus account look under the Conversation for the link "Have a Disqus Account?". Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide