- Associated Press - Tuesday, February 2, 2016

FAYETTEVILLE, Ark. (AP) - The University of Arkansas has been chosen to host the 2016 Thorpe Cup.

The event is a team decathlon and team heptathlon between the United States and Germany. It’s named in honor of 1912 Olympic decathlon champion and Oklahoma native Jim Thorpe.

This year’s competition will be July 29 and 30 and John McDonnell Field in Fayetteville.

This is the 23rd decathlon in the series. The women’s heptathlon was added in 2006.

The U.S. leads the overall decathlon series 13-9, although Germany has won the last six. The U.S. also leads the heptathlon series 7-3 and has won six consecutive in the competition.

Copyright © 2018 The Washington Times, LLC.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times welcomes your comments on Spot.im, our third-party provider. Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide