- Associated Press - Tuesday, February 2, 2016

All Times EST



Site: Scottsdale, Arizona.

Schedule: Thursday-Sunday.

Course: TPC Scottsdale, Stadium Course (7,266 yards, par 71).

Purse: $6.5 million. Winner’s share: $1.17 million.

Television: Golf Channel (Thursday, 3-7 p.m., 8 p.m.-4 a.m.; Friday, 3-7 p.m., 10 p.m.-2 a.m.; Saturday, 1-3 p.m., 8 p.m.-1 a.m.; Sunday, 1-3 p.m., 6:30-11:30 a.m.; Monday, 1:30-6 a.m.) and NBC (Saturday-Sunday, 3-6 p.m.).

Last year: Brooks Koepka won his first PGA Tour title. He made a 50-foot eagle putt on No. 15 and beat Bubba Watson, Hideki Matsuyama and Ryan Palmer by a stroke.

Last week: Brandt Snedeker won the Farmers Insurance Open at Torrey Pines in San Diego. He closed with a 3-under 69 in wind and rain Sunday and ended up beating K.J. Choi by a stroke Monday.

Notes: Phil Mickelson won in 1996, 2005 and 2013. In 2013, he shot 60-65-64-67 to match the tournament record of 28-under 256. The former Arizona State player missed the cut last week at Torrey Pines after opening the year with a tie for third in La Quinta. … Snedeker also is in the field along with Bubba Watson, British Open champion Zach Johnson, Rickie Fowler and Jason Dufner. Fowler won the European Tour event two weeks ago in Abu Dhabi. Dufner is coming off a playoff victory in La Quinta. … The AT&T; Pebble Beach Pro-Am is next week, followed by the Northern Trust Open at Riviera in Los Angeles.

Online: https://www.pgatour.com




Site: Ocala, Florida.

Schedule: Wednesday-Saturday.

Course: Golden Ocala Golf and Equestrian Club (6,541 yards, par 72).

Purse: $1.5 million. Winner’s share: $225,000.

Television: Golf Channel (Wednesday, 2-5 p.m., 7-10 p.m.; Thursday, 4-5:30 a.m., 11 a.m.-2 p.m.; Friday, 4-5:30 a.m., 8-10 p.m.; Saturday, 3-5 p.m.).

Last year: South Korea’s Na Yeon Choi won by a stroke. New Zealand’s Lydia Ko tied for second to reach No. 1 in the world ranking.

Last week: South Korea’s Hyo Joo Kim won the season-opening Pure Silk-Bahamas LPGA Classic. She beat Stacy Lewis, Sei Young Kim and Anna Nordqvist by two strokes.

Notes: Ko is making her first start of the season. She won five times last season. … Second-ranked Inbee Park is sidelined by a back injury that forced her to withdraw after a first-round 80 in the Bahamas. … Lewis has nine runner-up finishes in a 40-event victory drought that dates to June 2014. The 11-time tour winner has 22 career second-place finishes. … U.S. Women’s Open champion In Gee Chun is making her first start as an LPGA Tour member. She won five times last year on the Korean LPGA. … The tour is off next week. Play will resume Feb. 18-21 with the ISPS Handa Women’s Australian Open.

Online: https://www.lpga.com




Site: Dubai, United Arab Emirates.

Schedule: Thursday-Sunday.

Course: Emirates Golf Club, Majlis Course (7,327 yards, par 72).

Purse: $2.65 million. Winner’s share: $441,670.

Television: Golf Channel (Wednesday, 11 p.m.-4 a.m.; Thursday, 5:30-8:30 a.m.; Saturday, 4-8 a.m., 10 a.m.-noon; Sunday, 3:30-8 a.m., 10 a.m.-noon).

Last year: Northern Ireland’s Rory McIlroy matched the tournament record at 22-under 266 in a three-stroke victory. He also won in 2009.

Last week: South Africa’s Branden Grace successfully defended his Qatar Masters title. He won by two strokes.

Notes: McIlroy is coming off a third-place tie two weeks ago in Abu Dhabi in his season debut. … Stephen Gallacher, the 2013 and 2014 winner, is in the field along with Henrik Stenson, Louis Oosthuizen, Martin Kaymer, Graeme McDowell, Lee Westwood, Ernie Els and Andy Sullivan. … . The Tshwane Open is next week in South Africa, followed by the Maybank Championship Malaysia and Perth International.

Online: https://www.europeantour.com




Site: Boca Raton, Florida.

Schedule: Friday-Sunday.

Course: The Old Course at Broken Sound (6,807 yards, par 72).

Purse: $1.75 million. Winner’s share: $262,500.

Television: Golf Channel (Friday, 11 a.m.-2 p.m.; Saturday, 2-4 a.m., 5-7 p.m.; Sunday, 1-3 a.m., 3-5 p.m., 11:30 p.m.-1:30 a.m.).

Last year: Paul Goydos birdied the final hole for a one-stroke victory over Gene Sauers.

Last event: Duffy Waldorf won the season-opening Mitsubishi Electric Championship in Hawaii on Jan. 23 for his second victory in his last three starts. He made a 30-foot birdie putt on the final hole to beat Tom Lehman by a stroke.

Notes: The tournament is the first full-field event of the year. … Craig Parry is making his first tour start. The Australian turned 50 on Jan. 12. … The tour will remain in Florida next week for the Chubb Classic in Naples.

Online: https://www.pgatour.com




Site: Bogota, Colombia.

Schedule: Thursday-Sunday.

Course: Bogota Country Club (7,237 yards, par 71).

Purse: $700,000. Winner’s share: $126,000.

Television: None.

Last year: Patrick Rodgers beat Steve Marino with a birdie on the second hole of a playoff.

Last week: Ryan Armour won the season-opening Panama Claro Championship for his first victory in 217 career starts. He closed with a 6-under 64 for a three-stroke victory.

Notes: Former Georgia Tech star Ollie Schniederjans is making his first Web.com Tour start as a professional. He tied for 49th on Monday in the PGA Tour’s Farmers Insurance Open. … The next event is the Chitimacha Louisiana Open on March 17-20.

Online: https://www.pgatour.com




JAPAN GOLF TOUR/ASIAN TOUR: Leopalace21 Myanmar Open, Thursday-Sunday, Royal Mingalardon Golf and Country club, Yangon, Myanmar. Online: https://www.jgto.org and https://www.asiantour.com

PGA TOUR OF AUSTRALASIA: Oates Victorian Open, Thursday-Sunday, 13th Beach Golf Links, Barwon Heads, Australia. Online: https://www.pgatour.com.au


AUSTRALIAN LADIES PROFESSIONAL GOLF: Oates Victorian Open, Thursday-Sunday, 13th Beach Golf Links, Barwon Heads, Australia. Online: https://www.alpg.com.au

Copyright © 2019 The Washington Times, LLC.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times welcomes your comments on Spot.im, our third-party provider. Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide