SPRINGFIELD, Ill. (AP) - Anyone under 18 who’s caught with electronic cigarettes or other tobacco-free nicotine products would face a fine or community service under a new Illinois law.
Gov. Bruce Rauner signed legislation last week that imposes penalties for minors who possess e-cigarettes.
State Sen. Julie Morrison sponsored the measure. The Deerfield Democrat says it will protect young people “from the dangers of this increasingly popular product.”
Illinois law already prohibits selling e-cigarettes to anyone under 18. Morrison says it makes sense for the state to ban possession as well.
The penalties are the same as for possession of tobacco products. The first violation is a $25 fine or 15 hours of community service. The maximum penalty is a $100 fine and 30 hours of community service.
The law takes effect June 1.
Copyright © 2021 The Washington Times, LLC.