- Associated Press - Wednesday, February 3, 2016

OKLAHOMA CITY (AP) - Gov. Mary Fallin says the federal government has approved the state’s request for disaster assistance to three more counties as a result of damage from a November ice storm.

Fallin said Wednesday that the Federal Emergency Management Agency agreed to add Bryan, Garfield and Greer counties to the 18 counties approved for federal funding on Dec. 29.

The funding is for cities, counties, rural electric cooperatives and the state to help pay for infrastructure repairs and costs associated with the Nov. 27-29 storm. Assistance was previously approved for Alfalfa, Beckham, Blaine, Caddo, Canadian, Custer, Dewey, Ellis, Grady, Grant, Kingfisher, Kiowa, Logan, Major, Oklahoma, Roger Mills, Washita and Woods counties.

The storm was blamed for two deaths and caused and estimated $20.5 million in damage and response costs.

Copyright © 2019 The Washington Times, LLC.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times welcomes your comments on Spot.im, our third-party provider. Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide