- Associated Press - Sunday, February 7, 2016

OKLAHOMA CITY (AP) - Freedom of Information Oklahoma is accepting nominations for its annual awards program which recognizes individuals and organizations that promote the First Amendment.

The awards include the Marian Opala First Amendment Award to an Oklahoman who promotes education about or protection of individual rights guaranteed by the First Amendment. There is also the Ben Blackstock Award presented to a non-governmental person or organization that has shown a commitment to freedom of information and the Sunshine Award to a public official or governmental body that has shown a commitment to open meetings and open records.

A Black Hole Award recognizes those who oppose the dissemination of public information.

FOI Oklahoma was founded 26 years ago to educate the public on the First Amendment and openness in government.


On the net: https://www.foioklahoma.org

Copyright © 2018 The Washington Times, LLC.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times welcomes your comments on Spot.im, our third-party provider. Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide